Misdemeanor Crimes in Pompano Beach
While crime, in general, continues to decline year over year in South Florida, there are still thousands of violent and non-violent crimes reported every year. Under Florida law, misdemeanor crimes are punishable by up to one year in jail and are often accompanied by hefty criminal fines, and the permanent record of committing a misdemeanor in the state.
Types of Misdemeanor Crimes
In Florida, as well as in other states, misdemeanor crimes are organized by class. Many crimes fall under the spectrum of a misdemeanor, including but not limited to:
- Assault and battery
- Interference with custody
- Domestic violence
- Resisting arrest
- Possession of controlled substances
- Theft crimes
- Reckless or deadly conduct
- Unlawful weapon possession
- Violating a restraining order
- Traffic violations
In Florida, misdemeanor crimes are classified into two categories that depend on the specifics of the case. Misdemeanors can be either of the first or second degree, with different offenses.
- Misdemeanor of the First Degree: This is the most serious case of misdemeanors in Florida. An example of a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida includes property theft valued at $100 or more but under $300, also known as petty theft.
- Misdemeanor of the Second Degree: These are the least severe cases of misdemeanors in Florida. On occasion, second-degree misdemeanor charges are also known as unclassified misdemeanors as lawmakers can’t classify the crime. An example of a second-degree misdemeanor includes prostitution or drunk driving without causing bodily harm to others.
Arrested for a Misdemeanor Crime in Pompano Beach?
The Defense for a Misdemeanor Crime
If you or someone you know is arrested for a misdemeanor crime in Florida, jail time and criminal fines are a possibility. Misdemeanor crimes require the legal advice of attorneys with criminal law experience. Misdemeanor convictions can result in a permanent criminal record. Working with the right legal team to help fight for your case can change your current outcome.
Also, for all misdemeanors cases in Florida, the state must begin criminal prosecution within the statute of limitations, after which the defendant can have the case dismissed. In Florida, the statute of limitation begins when the a misdemeanor crime is committed, and it lasts for one or two years.
Florida Offenses for Misdemeanor Crimes
Florida criminal offenses can vary widely according to the charges at stake, the way the misdemeanor was classified, and other factors. According to the Florida Statutes 775.082 and 775.083, misdemeanor crimes in Florida are punishable as follow:
- Misdemeanor of the First Degree: Up to one year in a county jail, and a fine of up to $1,000.
- Misdemeanor of the Second Degree: Up to 60 days in a county jail, and a fine of up to $500.
Build Your Defense Team
Those arrested for a misdemeanor crime are facing severe penalties that can be life-altering. Although misdemeanor criminal cases are not as complicated as felony cases, if found guilty, misdemeanor charges can carry unforeseen consequences that may affect your entire family, which can continue long after paying the fines or jail sentence. Working with a law firm that understands the ins and outs of the criminal justice system can help you build an unbeatable defense case that can potentially cut down the penalties, jail time, and even the charges.
Working with Criminal Defense Lawyer in South Florida
If you or someone you know is facing misdemeanor charges in South Florida, seeking immediate legal attention is a must. Misdemeanor charges pose a threat to your reputation, rights, and freedom. Let the experienced misdemeanor lawyers at LJ Law Group, fight for your legal rights and build a misdemeanor defense case to defend your reputation above all. Call LJ Law Group today or fill out our online form to request your complimentary and confidential case consultation.