In South Florida, you can be accused of burglary just because you’re present on the premises of a home, business, or other location without permission. The law does not require a showing of any indication of forcible entry for a person to be charged with this offense. Even entering through an open or unlocked door or window can result in allegations and formal charges of burglary.
Burglary generally involves entering or remaining on premises where you don’t have permission to be, or to which you weren’t invited, with the intent of committing another criminal offense. There are different types of burglary under the Florida statutes: Burglary of a Dwelling, Burglary of a Structure, and Burglary of a Conveyance. A wide variety of circumstances can result in an arrest and charges of burglary. Even if you don’t have any intention to commit any other crimes, Florida criminal statutes say that a charge of burglary can apply.
A Burglary Charges Lawyer in South Florida Can Defend You
Charges like these are often false and unfair, and if you’ve been charged with burglary, you need to be aware of the seriousness of the charges and the potential penalties you’re facing. If you try to handle your own defense, it can cost you your freedom, your financial future, and your reputation. You need to find legal help promptly. LJ Law Group, an experienced criminal defense law firm in South Florida, can help you protect your rights and your freedom.
Penalties for Burglary Convictions
Florida law states that burglary will always be a felony, and the penalties will usually include fines, jail time, forfeiture of property and assets, court-mandated restitution, and a felony conviction on your criminal record that will follow you around for the rest of your life.
A felony conviction can prevent you from getting a decent job, a nice place to live, and more. If other charges were also brought against you, such as assault or battery charges, this can increase the charges to aggravated felonies. Further escalations in the seriousness of the charges can occur if a weapon is used or if other people are present when the alleged burglary occurs.
The circumstances surrounding the charges are often very complex, and there are several degrees of felony burglaries, from first to third. While you may face “only” a $5,000 fine and 5 years in prison for a conviction of third-degree burglary, a conviction on a first-degree charge can carry 30 years of jail time and a fine of up to $10,000. This is all in addition to restitution and asset or property forfeiture.
Why Choose LJ Law Group?
If you’re facing charges of burglary, whether third-, second-, or first-degree, your entire future is at risk. The best thing you can do to protect your rights and your freedom is to reach out to LJ Law Group and ask for a free case evaluation. There is no reason to go it alone when your financial future and freedom are on the line.