In South Florida, as well as most other areas of the nation, prostitution and solicitation are illegal. They can result in stiff penalties for convictions. If you are facing charges related to prostitution and solicitation one of the best things you can do for your case is to contact an experienced South Florida prostitution defense attorney like the ones at LJ Law Group. Even if it is your first offense, you may be facing misdemeanor or even felony charges, and a qualified lawyer can help you outline the best legal defenses for your case.
You may have a case where the best defense strategy may be procedural, or it may be substantive, and the experienced attorneys at LJ Law Group will be familiar with how to build the best defense and how to present it effectively in court.
The Florida statutes state that it is a crime for anyone to commit, offer to commit, or be involved in prostitution or lewdness. Prostitution is defined as having occurred when there is a giving or a receiving of a body for sexual activity for hire, although spousal activities are exempted from the definition. Lewdness is when there are indecent or obscene acts, with indecent acts involving wicked, licentious, lustful, or unchaste acts. This can also include acts that are intended to be sensual by the person performing the acts. Since sexual activity spans a wide variety of penetration and union, including but not limited to vaginal, oral, and anal, either by body or object, these statutes are extremely wide-reaching.
Common South Florida Prostitution Defense Sentencing Elements
When facing charges related to prostitution and solicitation, the sentencing will depend greatly on the specific charge, although working with an experienced criminal defense lawyer like LJ Law Group, you give yourself the best chance to minimize the punishment you may face in the event of a conviction.
If you are facing prostitution charges for the first time, you may be able to face a second-degree misdemeanor charge, which if convicted could result in up to 60 days of imprisonment. If charged and convicted a second time, it is upgraded to a first-degree misdemeanor and carries a possible sentence of a year in jail.
Solicitation of a prostitute on a first offense is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. The second offense is a third degree felony punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Third and subsequent offenses are considered a second degree felony and carry a penalty of 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Why Choose LJ Law Group?
If you are facing charges of prostitution and solicitation, no matter if it is your first offense or you have a history of prostitution and solicitation, the lawyers at LJ Law Group can help. Reach out today for a free case evaluation to begin discussing your situation and your defense needs.