Driving while impaired is an illegal activity in all 50 states. However, some states struggle more than others with DUIs and DWIs. This could be due to different DUI laws across the nation. For example, Arizona, Alaska, Connecticut, Virginia, Kansas, Nebraska, and Utah have some of the strictest laws when it comes to driving under the influence. On the other hand, states like South Dakota have no minimum sentence for either the first or second DUI charge, which means they report fewer cases.
Under Florida law, driving under the influence of recreational drugs, alcohol, or even over-the-counter or prescription medications can result in a DUI/DWI arrest. Florida also has a Zero Tolerance policy for drivers under 21, which means any driver under such age with a blood-alcohol level of .02 or higher, will automatically face charges. While for adults over 21, the limit is .08.
DUI and DWI convictions in Florida can carry convictions ranging from $500 fines and driver’s license revocation for a minimum of 180 days to penalties of up to $2,000 and mandatory permanent revocation of your driver’s license.
Understanding DUI Charges
DUI accidents often involve many people. Not only will you be facing charges for driving under the influence, but usually when people drive under the influence, they are more prone to accidents that can result in:
- Traumatic head injuries
- Broken bones
- Spinal cord injuries
- Permanent disability
- Wrongful death
Being involved in a drunk driving accident can result in life-changing consequences. This is why the Florida penalties for DUI convictions are so strict.
Statistics per State
Let’s take a closer look at the DUI statistics per state to see how they compare. In 2017 alone, Florida witnessed over 43,000 DUI Violation Tickets, and over 24,000 DUI convictions. Keep reading to find out the worst case scenario for DUI convictions.
Since the number of DUI arrests can relate to the population of the states, let’s look at the states with the highest number of DUI arrests.
Top 10 States
- South Dakota
- South Carolina
- New Mexico
Wyoming has a DUI arrest rate per 100,000 people of 9.56, while Arkansas has a ratio of 3.91.
Top 20 States
- North Carolina
Idaho has seen a 32.1% increase in DUI arrests and fatalities in the past couple of years.
Top 30 States
- West Virginia
Even though Florida witnessed over 40,000 violations in 2017, it’s still not as dangerous as other states.
Top 40 States
- New Hampshire
Luckily from this pod, states like Iowa and Delaware are witnessing a decrease in DUIs.
Top 50 States
- Rhode Island
- New Jersey
- New York
The ratio of DUI arrests per 100,000 people in these states is under 3.5.
Facing DUI Charges?
If you’ve been charged with a DUI, not only are you facing criminal charges, but the consequences can impact your life. DUI charges make it more challenging to maintain employment, rent or purchase a new home, and even obtain auto insurance. Working with a DUI lawyer is key to understanding your rights and options to deal with the potential conviction.
At LJ Law Group, our attorneys will tirelessly work to make sure you get the best possible outcome from your case. If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges, reach out to the office of LJ Law Group and schedule a free and complimentary case evaluation to get started. When your rights and freedom are at stake, it’s best to have a team of dedicated attorneys by your side.